Christmas Blessings

Christmas old

The sun has set on another Christmas day at our house and what a long day it has been. My wife is relaxing on one couch and our youngest is watching a video on the other leaving me with no place to sit. As a man with no place to call his own I decided I would write instead. Christmas is my favorite of the holidays and not because of some deep theological meaning, even though Jesus is central for us. I love it because this day has always revolved around family. For as long as I can remember our family would gather to celebrate Christmas. This year was no different, we had a house full.

I find myself wondering what memories our girls are going to have of Christmas. For me some of my best childhood memories revolve around Christmas. Sure I remember some of the gifts I received but most have long since faded from my memory. What I remember is the people who were in attendance. I can still see my childhood self looking out the front window in anticipation of the cousins arrival. The excitement upon seeing the car pull into the driveway. Oh the thrill of spending time with those I had not seen in months. It was a glorious time in my childhood.

The sound of laughter filled the house. Maybe it was the egg nog but even the adults seemed to embrace their silly inner child. No it was not perfect. You cram a large group of people of varying ages in one house and things can get tense from time to time. Children playing can quickly become noisy kids and noisy kids wear on parents nerves. Of course I never misbehaved it was my cousins (not one in particular) fault whatever it was. Still even the moments of tension were rapidly broken by laughter again.

On Christmas morning sleepy parents would follow eager children to see what may have been left under the tree. Squeals of delight would fill the air as someone opened the present they were “dying” to get. We would play with our new-found possessions as the adults began preparing the day’s meal. Oh the smells that would emanate for the kitchen. The occasional chirping of the smoke detector indicating the rolls may have been left in a little too long. Then there was the trip to pick up the senior members of the family. This of course meant more gifts and food would soon arrive. We would all sit down to eat as a family, well some of us had to sit at the kids table but I’m not bitter. Then we would spend the rest of the day playing, talking, catching up, and just enjoying the time we had together.

Sadly the day would come to an end. People would return to their homes until the next time. As a child I did not appreciate these times because I did not know they would eventually end. I mean I knew everyone would go home but there was always next year. Slowly the numbers dwindled. Some grew older and had their own thing to do. New family dynamics took shape and they began their own Christmas traditions. This is how it is supposed to be. As I think about the past I cannot help but take note of those who are no longer with us. Time has played a dirty trick on us and age has taken its toll.

Laughter still fills the house today. Our family gathering is different now, only my parents were present for my childhood and today. We have added to the gathering my wife’s family and even friends (who are more like family anyway). I still get in trouble and it is still not my fault – it was Johns. My hope is for my children to remember these times as fondly as I remember them. So to those who shared Christmas with us, thank you. Thank you for being a part of creating something that will out last any toy, electronic or article of clothing. Your presence is the greatest of gifts. For those who are gathered elsewhere – Merry Christmas and we love you!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Blessings

  1. This year, in particular, I found myself longing for those childhood days of Christmas. They were magical. What a gift to have the blessed opportunity to make it magical for our children. The yearning for our loved ones who have passed, all of the Franklin elders (the Nihouls, Granny Zoller, my daddy) , makes the treasured memories oh so precious.

  2. Dear Lee, Having problems with our computer.  Hope you receive this message.  Have put two addresses on it hoping you get at least one of the messages!!   What a sweet joy to read this latest of your writings, this morning.  Dad and I are so pleased with the picture of the Christmas tree, the old, old, old, chair and of course the bookcase we’ve had since before you were born.  That bookcase came with the set of Britannica encyclopedias we bought not too long after we were married in 1963!!  How cleaver that you put folks outside the window!! I am amazed that your memories of Christmases past are so vivid for you.  Dad and I will treasure, along with  your other blogs, this “Christmas Blessings” writing. We had a lovely time, as usual, with you, family and friends.  The meal, also as usual, was delicious.  Hope you take some time today to do what you want to do….and get some rest.   Dad will be searching though the BASS catalog for fishing-type items…plus other stuff.  I treasure my watch!!  Not only is it pretty, but it fits perfectly!  You’d think after being retired almost 20 years, time would not be that important to me, but I truly believe after having taught school over 30 years and having to be in a certain place at the appointed time, it has become part of me to know what time it is, if only to watch a “western” on tv with Dad!   Again, thank you for such a wonderful Christimas Day!!  We love you, dear family. Mom and Dad     Freddie and Sue     SueSue    

Leave a comment