Perspectives – The Christmas Story (The Inn Keeper)

nativity

This census has our little town bustling like a big city. Every street is jammed with travelers from all over and each one is looking for a place to stay. Relatives and friends have guests imposing on them, it is crazy. Every lodging is full and our little inn is no exception. The entire day I have been running around making sure our guests have everything they need. Even my wife is being worn ragged. I believe if she had to cook one more loaf of bread she may snap. It would be nice to sit down and relax for a moment but I have to go out and make sure all the animals have hay for the night. For some reason the animals seem restless tonight. Maybe it is all the excitement or it could be all the light from that silly star.

I was opening the door when I saw them. He was frantically knocking on doors trying to find a place for them to rest. She was obviously pregnant but I had idea how far along she was until they came my direction. For a moment I thought about closing the door and pretending no one was home but it was too late, he already saw me. Hurrying toward me I could see the desperation in his face. I started shaking my head hoping he would not make me say it but no such luck. I felt terrible but I just did not have anymore room. Honestly I was not sure where I was going to sleep tonight.

His head hung for a moment until his wife cried out to him and fell to the ground. She was not going to wait, a baby was going to be born here tonight. All we have is the stable but at least it was warm and dry. They were all by themselves with no one to help them deliver the child. My wife must have been watching from inside because here she came barking orders like a military commander. Well we jumped into action. I put out fresh hay and moved some of the livestock around. Once Joseph and I help Mary lay down, I found out their names while we were carrying her to the stable, my wife kicked us out. It would not be long.

I tried to make small talk with Joseph but he seemed distracted. It is understandable but it seemed to be more than her having a baby. I asked him how long they were married and if this was their first. Joseph chuckled and told me I probably would not believe the story if he told me. I was about to say I would but the sound of a baby crying interrupted us. Joseph turned toward his wife in time to see my wife hand her the child. It was a lovely sight to see. I started this night off completely exhausted and now I do not think I could sleep a wink.

I busied myself with a few chores, remaining close by in case I was needed for anything. I was contemplating the events of the night when a commotion on the other side of the stable caught my attention. There my wife stood blocking the path of several shepherds. They were imploring her to let them see the baby and she would have none of it. Like a mother hen she was guarding the couple as if they were her own. I was on my way to see if she needed me when I heard the word, Savior. They must be at the wrong place I though until Joseph stepped outside and allowed them to come in. The shepherds were recalling their tale of angels and a message from God. Neither Mary nor Joseph laughed at them or looked at them like they were nuts. When Joseph began to tell them their side of the story I could only stand in silence.

Could this baby really be our Savior? If he was so important why was he born in this place? I watched him sleeping in the feed trough. There was something about him that was different I could tell but I had no idea what. For now he was a helpless little baby, lying in my stable. No matter what happens in his future I know I witnessed a miracle here tonight. It would be morning soon so I will let them rest. Unfortunately for me there is much to do before my guests awaken…

Leave a comment